2024 Woman of the Year Awards - March 22nd

Thank you to our 2024 Women's Advocate premier donor: County Executive Shapiro and the County of Summit!

2024 Woman of the Year Award Recipients

Darnella Cummings - Pioneer
Jackie Derrow - Initiative
Karen Fitzgerald - Inspiration
Yun "Mi Mi" Khaing - Woman to Watch
Sarah Vradenburg - Integrity
Sister Catherine Walsh - Faith
The Honorable Judge Annalisa Stubbs Williams - Perseverance

Posthumous Presentation:

Seven women of the Cuyahoga Portage Chapter of the DAR - founders of the Society: Minnie W. Franz, Lillie H. Joy, Mabelle Artman Caine, Eugenia T. Hay, Helen A. Williams, Ada E. Allen and Grace G. Wise

Tickets are $40 per person and may be purchased via EventBrite. Click here for sponsorship details.

2024 Women's History Project Committee:
Theresa S. Beyerle, Ph.D., chair
Liz Blystone
Carrie Burrier
Katie Byard Carney
Kathleen "Kitty" Endres, Ph.D.
Amy Freels
Carrie Herman
Holli Mallak
Judy James
Karen Hrdlicka
Katy Miller
Rose Vance-Grom
Phyllis O'Connor
Willette Riley
Leianne Neff Heppner

**The Women’s History Project of the Akron Area, Inc. became a program of the Summit County Historical  Society of Akron, OH in 2013.  The merger occurred during the 30th anniversary year for the Women’s History Project and in anticipation of the Society’s 90th anniversary in 2014.