Main menu: Home | Education | Visit Us | News & Events | Tickets | Members | Volunteer | Contact Us | Shop

Contact Us

Summit County Historical Society of Akron, Ohio
550 Copley Road
Akron, Ohio 44320
Phone: 330.535.1120
Fax: 330.535.0250

SCHS offices are located behind the Perkins Stone Mansion at the corners of South Portage Path and Copley Roads in Akron. Office hours are Tuesday – Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Archival & Genealogical Collection

Our extensive collection of photographs and historic documents is housed at the Special Collections Division of the Akron-Summit County Public Library. Some documents from our collection are available for viewing online at the Summit Memory Project. To view pieces from our archival collection please contact the Special Collections Division at or 330.643.9030.

The Women's History Project of the Akron Area is now a program of Summit County Historical Society. Click here to search its database.

Tour Information

We will reopen for tours on April 4, 2018. The cost for self guided tours is $8 for adults and $2 for students. Self guided tours are available Wednesday-Saturday from 1-4pm. The cost for guided tours is $12. Guided tours are now by appointment only. Groups may call the office to schedule tour days and times. Free for SCHS members. School and group tours available at discounted prices.

Full time staff:

Leianne Neff Heppner, President and CEO
Claire Lucas, Education Coordinator

Part time staff:

Mary Conley, Administrative Assistant


Summit County Historical Society Board Of Directors:


        Dave Lieberth - Chair
        Karen D. Adinolfi - Vice Chair
        Kevin McCauley - Treasurer
        Carla Sibley - Secretary


        Joseph Abraham
        Craig Babbitt
        Theresa S. Beyerle, Ph.D.
        Elizabeth Campbell
        Thomas "Tom" Clark
        Kathleen "Kitty" Endres, Ph.D.
        Karen Hackenberry
        Jen Hardin
        Gary Hartman
        Bob Hutchison
        Suze Johns
        Charles "Chas" Schreckenberger
        Ashley Thompson
        Tim Tober
        John Valle II
        Jeff Walters
        Cheryl Warren
        Mike Wilps

Directors Emeritus

        Madeline Bozzelli
        John Dalton
        Don Fair
        Jack Gieck*
        Kathryn Hunter*
        George Knepper, Ph. D.
        Lynn Metzger, Ph.D.*
        John V. Miller
        Ronald B. Tynan, Sr.
        Lucinda Weiss, Esq.


Map to SCHS

Click on the map below to find the Summit County Historical Society of Akron, Ohio on Google Maps.